Climate Workshop Series for Department Heads

The Climate Workshop Series for Department Heads focuses on cultivating a supportive and inclusive department climate for diverse faculty.

Overall satisfaction and desire to stay at an institution are strongly related to satisfaction in the department. This is where faculty live and the department is the environment they experience.

The workshop series is based on a model developed by the University of Wisconsin WISELI (Women in Science and Engineering Leadership Institute) program. Following the WISELI model, the workshops are organized around a climate survey administered to faculty and staff in the departments of participating heads.

2015-17 Agenda

Schedule of topics and activities for 2015-2017.

October 2015: Introduction to the workshop; NC State climate – data from the COACHE Survey; introduction to climate issues; ground rules; what to expect from the workshops.

November 2015: Communication skills for department heads; case studies; how different groups may experience department climate; heads’ perceptions of climate in their own departments.

Administer climate survey to faculty and staff in participating departments.

February 2016: Overview of survey results and discussion; how to share results; tools for action steps.

April 2016: Experiences with sharing the results; action planning; identify topics and resources needed for implementing action plans.

Fall 2016 and Spring 2017: Workshops to address needs identified in April 2016

Fall 2018: Re-administer climate survey.

2015-17 Readings

Past Participants


  • Doug Gillan and Adam Meade, Psychology
  • Jon Rust, Zeis Textiles Extension Education
  • Paola Sztajn and John Lee, Teacher Education and Learning Sciences
  • Wes Watson and Rick Davis, Entomology and Plant Pathology

2013-14 (Department Climate Re-Survey)

  • Jon Rust. Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
  • John Blondin, Physics
  • Walter Robinson. Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences
  • Frank Buckless. Accounting
  • Jerrell Coggburn. Public and International Affairs


  • Clay Clark, Molecular and Structural Biochemistry
  • Mary Ann Danowitz. Leadership, Policy, Adult and Higher Education
  • Lizette Hardie. Clinical Sciences
  • Bradley Kirkman. Management, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
  • Patricia Simmons. STEM Education


  • George Kennedy, Entomology
  • Jonathan Ocko, History
  • Chris McGahan, Molecular Biomedical Sciences
  • Dan Stancil, Electrical and Computer Engineering

2011 – Physical and Mathematical Sciences Cohort

  • John Blondin, Physics
  • Montse Fuentes, Statistics
  • Chris Gorman, Chemistry
  • Aloysius Helminck, Mathematics
  • Walter Robinson, Marine, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences


  • David Baumer. Business Management
  • Frank Buckless. Accounting
  • Nancy Cassill. Textile and Apparel Technology and Management
  • Jerrell Coggburn. Public and International Affairs
  • Jim Moyer. Plant Pathology
  • Michael Pendlebury. Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Jon Rust. Textile Engineering, Chemistry and Science
  • David Threadgill. Genetics
  • Ellen Vasu. Curriculum, Instruction, and Counselor Education


  • Dorothy Anderson. Parks, Recreation and Tourism Management
  • Margaret Daub. Plant Biology
  • Barry Goldfarb. Forestry and Environmental Resources
  • Ellen McIntyre. Elementary Education
  • Eric Miller. Microbiology
  • Malcolm Roberts. Population Health and Pathobiology
  • Richard Gould. Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering.

More information about the history of the Climate Workshop Series for department heads can be found on the ADVANCE Developing Diverse Departments website.

NC State Branding Bar